Number 14: People doing their jobs well

Standard

So, blog two for the day…I told you I would catch up and I will. So today I thought I really should dedicate this blog to those who do their jobs really really well. 

On Saturday my car broke down. I lost power on the motorway, in the dark, on my own. Everything was fine, mostly because the AA did a sterling job. I rang them up and they bumped me up to priority status, their engineer was with me within twenty minutes. He was lovely, really friendly and kind, just keen to get me home. Even the towing part was fun. In the car on the way to my village he was very chatty and reassuring, telling me I’d done all the right things, and explaining exactly what was wrong so that I knew what to tell the mechanic at the garage. Very nice man and very good at his job. Just what you needed after something quite that surprising had happened.

And then there are the people at the hospital. I don’t want to dwell on the bad but to give you the context I’m back in the game unfortunately, maybe. So the receptionist calls me, at work, but waits until she knows I am done teaching, how considerate! I love it when people have a realistic idea of what my teaching day is like, rather than just assuming it has the same, or easier, rules than an office. Anyway, lovely receptionist and her team get me an appointment for this week so that I am not left waiting until after Christmas for the test results. I know it is their job, but these people do not have to be nice about it, and yet they are. Just genuinely lovely, compassionate people who want to help you out as hassle free as possible. In the past they have taken into account the fact that getting time off isn’t that easy in a school and prioritised me for post school hours. The whole department in fact is rather wonderful, and that is exactly what you need.

Therefore, I would like to say a big fat thank you to anyone, anywhere, who does their job to the best of their ability. Because trust me, someone, somewhere is really very appreciative.

PS, I should also include the Shell garage man, who still smiles at me and asks me how my day is. The perfect antidote to sitting in traffic jams.

Leave a Reply

