Number Two: Strangers being kind, just because

Standard

So this is the rather delayed number two thing that cheers up my week: strangers being kind and friendly, just because they can.

This happens to me on a regular basis. The guy at the shell garage on my way home asking me how my day was and whether the students behaved for me that day; the lady at the swimming pool who is slower than me and allowing me to go in front; that kind person who lets me into the queue on the motorway every morning; the checkout workers who make friendly conversation and actually seem to listen to your answers. All of these people, as far as I am concerned are extra special. They’re not being nice because they have to, they’re not doing it because they get anything out of it, not really, they’re just doing it because they are nice.

So this post is dedicated to anyone who has done a good deed lately and been nice or kind or friendly, just because they can. There are so many more people I could mention here, for example the guy at the airport who found my luggage after my other half had ‘misplaced’ it; the rather wonderful woman in Spain who lent me her inhaler while I was having an asthma attack (and had rather stupidly left mine in England, opps) and even to smaller moments of niceness and general manners, students who actually say thank you when you hand them a piece of paper, colleagues who take the time to ask you how your day is going. General niceness and manners.

Let it never be underestimated.

Oh, and thank you.

PS, what about those people who give you their car parking tickets when they haven’t used them? Aren’t they amazing. And isn’t the city council or whoever it is a complete and utter git for making that illegal and actually enforcing it. What arses. I still think it’s one of the nicest things someone can do for you, and you can do for someone else. Oh, and the garage man has added a ‘god bless you’ when he sees me. It’s lovely, some may find it offensive but he clearly is just being friendly and personally I think it’s lovely and it cheers my day up no matter what has happened at school.

Leave a Reply

